Just like London buses…

…you wait for a new song and three come along.

It’s been a productive couple of weeks or so, both for soundtrack music and rock demos.  I’m now getting a set together of original rock songs which I’d love to play live at some point, and this was furthered by demos for new songs “Fall from Grace” and “Bullet for the General”.

“Fall from Grace” started out quite simply, with a verse and chorus in the ballpark of Free/Bad Company (actually my real inspiration was Stillwater the fictitious band from the film Almost Famous, with Nancy Wilson and Pete Frampton among the songwriters).

What I generally do is get a demo up to a stage and come back to it the next day and if I’m stuck listen to other unfinished demos and see if I can progress them.  But very quickly, I added a break after the chorus, and that changed the song completely, I then added a breakdown with a Fender Rhodes keyboard for good measure.

Here’s the video for “Fall from Grace”:

“Bullet for the General” followed soon after, and was one of the quickest demos to put together, more straight ahead rock than “Fall from Grace”,  with AC/DC-esque no nonsense and plenty of oomph too.

Lately writing four minutes of music or so has come easily, well relatively, but what is the most time consuming is coming up with a title for a song, it can be a real struggle!  The daft thing is, all these demos are awaiting lyrics, so the title will change anyway, but I like to put a video out or upload the demo to Soundcloud.  So stuck for a title, I looked at a list of the top 100 Spaghetti Westerns for inspiration and among the titles was “Bullet for the General”.  So with Spaghetti Westerns on my mind, I thought as a change from rock, I’ll write a little piece in the style of a Spaghetti Western – of course in the style of the great Ennio Morricone.

I wrote, “They Called Him Nobody”, very much in the style of “Man with a Harmonica” from Once Upon A Time In The West and “La Resa Dei Conti” from A Few Dollars More.  The title “They Called Him Nobody” is a mashup of two famous Spaghetti Westerns, “My Name Is Nobody” and “They Call Me Trinity”.

Of course it was irresistible to create a video for the track, full of high contrast images of guns, rifles, along with appropriate fonts to create an opening title sequence for a ficticious film, along with suitable aged film.

The question is, what music will next?  I don’t know but it will be fun finding out.

Remember I have a Youtube channel, Soundcloud page, twitter account and Facebook page, so please follow or subscribe.

 

Leave a Reply

